Three reasons why you should read: “WHEN I FIND YOU” by Dixie Lee Brown

Today begins a new regular segment called THREE REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD READ…(insert title here). It’s a chance for the author to tell you three brief things that makes their story stand out, give you something that’s a little more than the back of the book blurb. 

~ ~ ~

I’m thrilled to kick off this new segment with romantic suspense author Dixie Lee Brown, author of the Trust No One Series ( Avon Books.) I’ve read the first two books in the series and found myself literally sitting on the edge of my seat! So take it away, Dixie…

Hi Sharon! I’m so excited to be here with you on your blog! Thanks for inviting me!

WhenIFindYou2I’ve brought WHEN I FIND YOU with me today, the second book in the Trust No One romantic suspense series. I’ll have a short excerpt for your readers a bit later but first, as with most stories, there are a few moments in this book that are special to me—unforgettable. I’ll have to trim the list a little since you only asked for three. J Here we go~

#1. My favorite scene from the book is when hot, ex-Marine Walker is literally within seconds of catching up to the beautiful and innocent Darcy, having been charged with finding the nanny and saving her from the danger that threatens. Fed up with being a victim, Darcy isn’t about to trust anyone and counters his take-charge attitude with one of her own—a tree limb to the side of his head! Finding out she’s made a mistake involves a bear, a dip in a raging river, and a night in the wilderness with the aforementioned hot ex-Marine.

#2. Another favorite is when Walker’s protective side comes out after he learns Darcy was a victim of date-rape when she was in high school. He wants to meet out his own brand of justice when they accidentally run into the guilty party in Darcy’s hometown, but she convinces him to let it go. A little later, he gets another chance, and I love what he does! I don’t want to give away too much, but I’m a sucker for a knight in shining armor!

#3. And finally—Because of the life-changing event in high school, Darcy has concentrated on first college and then the family she works for as a nanny. She doesn’t date or go out with friends. She’s fairly naïve when it comes to men, and cavewomanher attraction to Walker scares her at first. It takes her a while to decide what she would like from him, but once she does, she tells him in no uncertain terms and not even a hit man with a gun will keep her from getting what she wants.

What hero qualities make you sit up and take notice—real life or fictional?

TO PURCHASE:
AMAZON
B&N

Blurb for WHEN I FIND YOU

(Book Two in theTRUST NO ONE Series)
 
Darcy Maddox’s quiet life as a nanny is turned upside down when she learns her employer is linked to the mafia. Rather than quitting, she chooses to stay and ignore the truth. Now, she’s fairly sure her boss is dead…and the murderers are after her. A complete stranger tries to kill her. Another dogs her every footstep. Is he friend or enemy? Dare she trust him?

When Walker is asked to track down the nanny and stash her someplace safe until the U.S. Marshals can arrange for her protection, he’s sure she’ll be more trouble than she’s worth. He has no idea. First, he has to find her. Then he must convince her he’s on her side, but that proves more difficult than he ever imagined. Walker doesn’t give up easily, especially after the woman clubs him and leaves him for dead. He doesn’t care how attracted he is to her. He’ll find her, and when he does, it’ll take more than the mafia to tear him away.

Excerpt:

Walker dropped his backpack and sprinted toward the water, stopping only to strip off his boots, jacket, and holster. Was she crazy? This was going to end badly. Still slightly upriver from him, it appeared she had finally come to the same conclusion. In a half crouch, she froze. At least four feet separated her from the third rock. It would have been an easy jump on flat ground with a running start. Perched on an uneven boulder with swiftly rushing water on all sides, it was risky to say the least. Walker pulled up at the water’s edge.

“Darcy, listen to me.” She didn’t reply or glance in his direction, but she stiffened and he hurried on. “You’re afraid—I get it. I’m not going to hurt you. I’m trying to help you, damn it, but you’re not making it easy.”

“I don’t need your help.” She raised her voice over the steadily rushing water.

Walker snorted a laugh. Did she really not know how much trouble she was in? “That bear would have ruined your evening if I hadn’t been around, and that guy back there by the car would have killed you.”

She jerked her head toward him but lost her balance and brought her hands up to steady herself. “He couldn’t do it, so now you’re taking over the job?”

“Hell, if I wanted you dead, why would I get between you and that bear? Why wouldn’t I just walk away and let your friend shoot you in the back? Think about it, Darcy. You’re a perfect target standing out there on that rock. No way could I miss.”

“Death isn’t necessarily the worst thing that can happen to a woman.” Her voice was thick with fatigue and despair.

The truth in her words made him burn with anger, and he didn’t know what to say that would convince her she could trust him. If he were in her position, who would he trust?

“If you’re telling me the truth, just go away. Leave me alone.”

He shook his head. “I can’t do that. You’re in a tough spot right now. I’m not convinced you’ll stay dry. Even if you do manage to get across, or back to this side, what then? Can you get out of here by yourself…in the dark? Do you even know where you are?”

“How do you know my name? I saw you watching me at the airport.”

“The U.S. Marshals Service sent me to find you and stash you someplace safe until they get this Johnny Fontana situation sorted out.”

She looked over her shoulder and met his gaze, hope shining in her eyes for the first time. “Show me your badge.”

Walker spread his hands wide. “I said they sent me—not that I’m a marshal.”

Damn it! She wanted to believe him—he saw it in her face. Instead, she turned back, dismissing him and everything he’d said. For a moment she stood there, silent, not moving. He watched her body language for a clue to what she planned. When she crouched and shoved herself forward, there was nothing he could do.

 

16 responses to “Three reasons why you should read: “WHEN I FIND YOU” by Dixie Lee Brown

  1. great idea Sharon. And great post too!

  2. Good morning, Sharon! I’m thrilled to be here today and that I get to be first to test drive your new awesome format! Thanks for having me!

  3. Thanks for stopping by, Shey!

  4. I agree…great idea for a weekly feature! I have this one on my iPad. Just haven’t found the time to read it yet. My reading has gotten rather sporadic lately, sad to say. But I read and loved the first one. Dixie has a knack for strong, sexy heroes.

  5. Thanks, Joanne! I know what you mean about sporadic reading! I think, if I ever get back to the one I started recently, I may have to go back and start over! Thanks for coming by!

  6. Nice share, ladies!
    I swear, Joanne and I are separated twins. Loved the first one, Dixie, and still haven’t found the time to read the second. My poor kindle. So full of talent and so neglected due to a lack of time. 😉

  7. Thanks for stopping by, Mac. I think a kindle should be full at all times!!

  8. (Let’s try this again, shall we?)
    Enticing! What a great idea for blog content. Fun! Thanks, Sharon and Dixie

  9. Thanks, Terri-Lynne! So glad you enjoyed!

  10. Thanks for stopping by, Terri!

  11. Thanks for the top 3 list. The book sounds intriguing.

  12. Hi Nana! Thanks for stopping by.

  13. Hi Dixie – Murder, intrigue and a sexy hero, sounds like something I’d like to read. Nice excerpt. I’ll check it out. Best of luck!

    Great feature, Sharon 😉

Leave a Reply

