Author Interview – Rachel Brimble Visits from the U.K.

Me & Han - Egypt 2012I’m thrilled to have Blue Ridge Literary Agency friend and author Rachel Brimble visit today to discuss  the second book in her Harlequin Superromance Templeton Cove series, A Man Like Him. Rachel talks about her favorite writers and more below. 

Welcome, Rachel. You have so many great books under your belt that I get a little tired just thinking about it!  Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Plotting – Always! I am a mix of a plotter and pantser. I like to have an idea of a plot before I start writing because I am a continual sufferer of the ‘sagging middle’. Every book I write, I get to around 40,000 words (my books are approx 90,000), and hit a brick wall. I have found that having a rough outline which I can refer back to helps get the juices flowing again. Otherwise there are many hours spent staring into space!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author is Nora Roberts…and Philippa Gregory. I love Nora’s books because every time I open one, I know I’m in for great characterization and a great story. She is a huge influence to me and what I want to write. If a writer can create characters that stay with a reader a long time after they finish the book, the job is done. Nora does that for me with almost every book. I have too many favorites to list.

Philippa Gregory writes in several genres, but my favorites are set around the British monarchy. For me, her Tudor series and Cousins’ War series are pure works of art. To write an historical novel with real characters as the hero and heroines is an extremely brave thing to do and she does it superbly.

Who is your favorite character from your book and why?

Finding Justice coverChris, the hero – he started his journey in book one of the series, Finding Justice, and when he started talking I knew I had to give him his own story. He’s a complex man with a great sense of using humor, which he uses to deal with trauma. He spoke to me very clearly from the start and I am not afraid to admit, I find the man VERY attractive! 😉

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series.

A Man Like Him was inspired by my real-life experience being rescued from the 2010 French floods. My family and I were rescued by helicopter from a hotel roof – it was the most terrifying twenty-four hours of my life and the first three chapters are more or less exactly what happened.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?

My intended audience is women from mid-teens upwards – my daughter (15) has just read Finding Justice and begged me for an early copy of A Man Like Him, because she loves the ongoing characters and small-town location. I wrote this book, as I write every book, because it was a story I HAD to tell. I recommend my Templeton Cove series for any women who like emotion-driven, tense, occasionally funny stories set in a seaside town where the secondary characters become as important as the protagonists. Books one and two are romantic suspense, books 3 & 4 (coming 2014) are mainstream romance and I have no idea what’s coming next. I have a fifth book contracted but my editor has left the sub-genre entirely up to me. I’m hoping a new idea comes sooner rather than later, lol!

Here’s a blurb from Rachel’s latest:

AManLikeHimA Man Like Him

Changing her life…again

After two years in hiding, Angela Taylor knows her independence is worth it. As long as she can escape her past, she has everything under control. Until a flash flood hits the park where she works, and hot Chris Forrester shows up the exact moment she needs a hero.

Chris proves he can save lives-and weaken a girl’s knees. But how can she make him understand that she’s off-limits, that getting close to her will endanger his life? Her happiness or his safety: it shouldn’t even be a choice.

Because when you love someone, you protect them, no matter the cost. At least, that’s what Angela keeps telling herself….

http://www.amazon.com/Man-Like-Him-Harlequin-Superromance/dp/0373718691/ref=tmm_mmp_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1374137289&sr=8-7

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-man-like-him-rachel-brimble/1114668447?ean=978037371869

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Man-Like-Harlequin-Super-Romance/dp/0373718691/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1374137395&sr=8-5&keywords=rachel+brimble

Author Bio and Links:

Rachel lives with her husband and two young daughters in a small town near Bath in the UK.  After having several novels published by small US presses, she secured agent representation in 2011. In 2012, she sold two books to Harlequin Superromance and a further three in 2013. She also writes Victorian romance for Kensington–her debut was released in April 2013, with book two coming in Feb 2014.

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and Romance Writers of America. When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Rachel with her head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with her family and beloved black Lab, Max. Her dream place to live is Bourton-on-the-Water in South West England…although she hopes a dream visit to Canada might just change her mind!

She likes nothing more than connecting and chatting with her readers and fellow romance writers. Rachel would love to hear from you!

Links:

Website

Blog

Twitter

Facebook

4 responses to “Author Interview – Rachel Brimble Visits from the U.K.

  1. Welcome to Musings From the Middle Ages, Rachel!

  2. Thanks for having me, lovely! Looking forward to chatting, I’m good at that 😉

  3. Great post ladies. Nice to meet you Rachel. thanks. :-0

Leave a Reply

