Author Interview: Debbie Christiana Writes with Magic

Today I’m delighted to have fellow Connecticut/Lower NY RWA Chapter member Debbie Christiana join me. If you like all thing supernatural, then Debbie is your gal! Today she’s here to talk about her latest release, Solstice, a tale filled with modern day witches, a visit to the past and lots of action. When I read Debbie’s latest release, there was a moment I began to wonder magic_by_cauldronbubble-d348aatif the author was capable of putting a spell on me. The research on her topic was impeccable.

Now, with a wave of my magic wand, let the interview begin…

Thank you, Sharon, for having me as  your guest today

You’re welcome, Debbie.  Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was an avid reader as a kid. From the start I loved mysteries. The Bobbsey Twins, Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys were my favorites. As I got a little older my tastes became a bit darker. I snuck my mother’s copy of The Exorcist into my room to read. I loved it and from then on anything paranormal/horror was my first love.  It wasn’t until later in my teens did I find romance.

In between all my reading I would sit and think about different endings to the book I had just finished. Even if liked the ending, various scenarios would play out in my head. Most of them would have never worked but it got my mind working.  

One day I loaded a single sheet of white paper into my Smith Corona typewriter and began to peck away at a story about ancient Egypt and mummies that came back to life.  A tribute to the Abbott and Costello black and white films I would watch on Saturday mornings. I still have it under lock and key and it hasn’t, nor will it see the light of day anytime soon.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

ApprovedSolstice_sm[3]SOLSTICE is a paranormal romantic suspense. Sofia is a Strega, and Italian witch who must help Armend break a 250 year-old family curse on his head, that will claim him on his 30th birthday, the winter solstice. In order to do so, they must piece together two halves of a sonata Armend’s ancestor wrote for his forbidden love.  Clues are scattered from New York City to the Catskills and as far as Sicily. Sofia and Armend fight against the calendar and an enemy who wants them both dead and the curse unbroken.

Who is your favorite character from your book and why? 

I loved all my characters. I worked hard to give them all their own personalities, weaknesses and strength.  I can tell you writing the antagonist/villain was one of my favorite things to do, especially since she was off her rocker. It allowed me to live out the dark side we all have hidden deep inside us. She did and said some outrageous things and it was so much fun to write.

Do you have advice for other writers? 

I know everyone says don’t give up and that is true and very good advice.  But the first thing you must do, before you even type your first word is grow skin at least three inches thick.  From the start there will be people who don’t like what you write. And that’s okay and their absolute right. I don’t like everything I read. Your work becomes your baby and you are protective of it and the first bad critique, first rejection, first bad review stings and it stings bad. But you have to let it go and don’t take it personal.

SOLSTICE BLURB:

Time is running out for Armend Zogu. The 250-year old family curse on his head will claim him on his 30th birthday, the winter solstice.

Sofia Palmalosi is just the Strega who can save him. A descendant of a long line of powerful Italian witches, their magic was a gift bestowed on them by the Goddess Diana.

In order to break the curse, Sofia and Armend must piece together the sheet music from an old violin sonata that Armend’s ancestor wrote for his forbidden love.

Together Sofia and Armend embark on a journey from New York to Sicily and the ancient ruins of Diana’s temple and back to New York while fighting a battle of wits and magic with a psychopath who wants them both dead and the curse intact.

If the curse doesn’t kill Armend, breaking just might.

BUY LINKS FOR SOLSTICE: 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_11?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=solstice+by+debbie+christiana&sprefix=Solstice+by%2Cstripbooks%2C176

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Solstice-by-debbie-christiana?keyword=Solstice+by+debbie+christiana&store=book

www.blackopalbooks.com

www.debbiechristiana.com

http://www.debbiechristian.com/blog

Twitter: @DebChristiana

Facebook: Debbie Christiana, author

        AUTHOR BIO:

Debbie Christiana would sit in her room as a little girl and write stories about ghosts, unexplained events and things that go bump in the night. She combined her love of the paranormal with her fascination of unusual love stories and decided to write paranormal romance.  She has two novels published with Black Opal Books, TWIN FLAMES and SOLSTICE.

In 2012, she had two short stories published. The Land of the Rising Sun, was one of ten included in the anthology BITES: Ten Tales of Vampires and The Thirteen Steps is featured in BELTANE: Ten Tales of Witchcraft. Debbie is a member of RWA and the International Thriller Writers, Inc.  She is the Secretary of her local RWA Chapter of Connecticut and Lower New York. She lives in Connecticut with her husband and three children

13 responses to “Author Interview: Debbie Christiana Writes with Magic

  1. Thanks again, Sharon for letting me be your guest 🙂

  2. Terri-Lynne DeFino

    I used to watch those old Abbott and Costello movies every Sunday morning! My station (Channel 11 PIX in NY!) would alternate between them and the Bowery Boys. Ah, the memories.

    Solstice is queued up next on my Kindle–the moment I finish reading another newly published novel. 😉

  3. OMG! Abbott & Costello and The Bowery Boys were the ONLY things we watched at my house on Sunday mornings. We loved that channel 11 lineup! My mother would have to pry us away to make us go to mass. LOL. Another favorite was the 4:30 movies on weekday afternoons. Saw so many great old flicks after school.
    Solstice sounds like a great story, Debbie. I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

  4. Thanks, Maura 😉 Well, I guess the general consensus is that all this happened on Sunday morning. I don’t know why I thought it was Saturday morning, something to do with my age, I suppose, LOL – But they were great shows and I remember the 4:30 movies. Me and my mom watched them.

  5. Since I’ve read both Twin Flames and Solstice, and loved them both. I want to read the first thing you wrote. The one that’s locked up tight.

  6. Hi Nana – you wouldn’t like it – mummies come back to life and haunt people, LOL – it’s just a very short story written by a 11 or 12 yr old. I don’t remember exactly how old I was. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

