The Very Inspiring Blog Award

Fellow Blue Ridge Literary author Dixie Lee Brown, whose debut novel ALL OR NOTHING will be released March 12th, has nominated me for this award. Thanks, Dixie!Very-Inspiring-Blog-Award2-300x191 In turn, I will nominate three more worthwhile recipients. But before I do, I will provide you with 7 things you didn’t know about me.

Since I tend to be an open book, these may be things you’ve heard before. But here goes!

1.  In third grade, I started to lie to my mother about brushing my teeth before bed (a phase, I guess). Popcorn was my night-time snack of choice and, as one might expect, by not brushing my teeth the kernels got stuck in my gums. So many kernels that the dentist had to surgically remove them. Popcorn was removed from my diet. Moral of the story: don’t lie. It’ll bite you in the butt.

2. I love dogs. I especially love my dogs. (okay, not news but it had to make my list)

Teddy and Mollie

Teddy and Mollie

3. I used to take ballet lessons. Those who know the grace with which I move as an adult will find this amusing. (sorry, no picture of me in a tutu)

4. Despite my  take-charge exterior, I’m often lacking in confidence. Luckily, I never let it stop me!

5. I wish I could run/jog like a normal person. I mean, my legs work. But I get a side dish of heavy breathing and abdominal pain whenever I try. In fact, I even get a slight twinge of pain when I pass runners in my car. I  occasionally have dreams where I’m running. It’s never like real life. Every movement is fluid and breath ‘normal.’ Ah, I wish…

6. I love sixties and seventies rock n’ roll and would love to have attended Woodstock.

7. My dream home would be in Tuscany, where I would write and eat the wonderful food of the region…without counting Weight Watchers points!

Enough about me. I’ve nominated the three blogs below to carry the torch of this award.  If your name is here and you have time to play along, Here are the rules:

  • Display the award logo on your blog.
  • Link back to the person who nominated you.
  • State 7 things about yourself.
  • Nominate other bloggers (the number seems to vary) and link back to them.

That’s it – piece of cake! And the awards go to…

Debbie Christiana

Anne Van

Terri-Lynne Defino

14 responses to “The Very Inspiring Blog Award

  1. Terri-Lynne DeFino

    Thanks, Sharon! Your popcorn story cracked me up. Ah, the things we do as kids. I once got a dried piece of playdough embedded in my knee, but I thought it was God getting back at me for having taken communion at my friend’s church that morning, when I hadn’t made my communion yet, so I didn’t tell anyone and it got really infected. D’oh!

  2. Terri, that play-doh thing is priceless! Yeah, my mouth hurt like heck from the popcorn. I never told my mother for fear of the truth being revealed. When the dentist asked if my mouth hurt, I lied again, hoping he’d just leave me alone. No such luck. funny what goes through a kids head, huh?
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. I love finding out about people’s lives through these posts. Thank you. I also love dogs, hate running, and have a fondness for movies with a Tuscany venue.
    Patti

  4. You put a smile on my face, Sharon. Isn’t it amazing how humor can make life’s yuckier moments almost enjoyable…almost! Loved the pics of your babies. Thanks for playing. It’s a great way to get to know someone better. And thanks for the mention on my upcoming release!

  5. Hi Sharon, We have a lot in common. I took ballet, was even in the Nutcracker, lol. Music from the 60’s 70’s and Tuscany, all things I love.
    Thanks for nominating me, it’ll be fun 😉

  6. Have fun with your post, Debbie. Hmmm, I’m thinking a CoLoNY RWA ballet performance to raise money. On second thought…maybe not.
    Sharon

  7. Oh my, no. My toe shoes are long put away!!!

  8. I love the popcorn story! It reminded me of the major dramas of my childhood. I took dance classes with my sister, who was the perfect ballerina. I was the cloddy jock. The teacher really tried to make me graceful. Thank goodness I found basketball and tennis.
    Thanks for the laughs~
    Looking forward to your next post.

  9. Sharon, Congratulations on your Award nomination!! Great photos of your fur babies!!! Jim and I were married in 1968. We were a part of the era of Woodstock, with free love, drugs and Viet Nam draft dodgers as a young married couple. It was a tumultuous time and a bit scary and a lot of people messed up their lives. The music that we grew up with was great and it continues to be timeless. Sorry if I am showing the negative side but it was there. On another popcorn note, Weight Watchers Jolly Time mini bags are great! Go popcorn!!!

  10. Hi Pat,
    Yes, the 60’s was a very tumultuous time. I think it’s the music and the message that I love about Woodstock, but I agree that a lot of crazy stuff happened to people at that wild event. Thankfully I’ve returned to eating popcorn. It’s still one of my favorite snacks. Only now, I brush my teeth afterward 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

